Thursday, September 3, 2015

[Review] *Tour* Delayed Penalty by Sophia Henry


Delayed Penalty 
by Sophia Henry
Pilot's Hockey, #1

Synopsis 

She closed her heart long ago. He just wants to open her mind. For fans of Toni Aleo and Sawyer Bennett, the debut of Sophia Henry’s red-hot Detroit Pilots series introduces a hockey team full of complicated men who fight for love.

Auden Berezin is used to losing people: her father, her mother, her first love. Now, just when she believes those childhood wounds are finally healing, she loses something else: the soccer scholarship that was her ticket to college. Scrambling to earn tuition money, she’s relieved to find a gig translating for a Russian minor-league hockey player—until she realizes that he’s the same dangerously sexy jerk who propositioned her at the bar the night before.

Equal parts muscle and scar tissue, Aleksandr Varenkov knows about trauma. Maybe that’s what draws him to Auden. He also lost his family too young, and he channeled the pain into his passions: first hockey, then vodka and women. But all that seems to just melt away the instant he kisses Auden and feels a jolt of desire as sudden and surprising as a hard check on the ice.

After everything she’s been through, Auden can’t bring herself to trust any man, let alone a hot-headed puck jockey with a bad reputation. Aleksandr just hopes she’ll give him a chance—long enough to prove he’s finally met the one who makes him want to change.

Link for Tour:

Purchase Links: 

My Review

I received a free copy of this ebook in exchange for an honest review. 

I'm a pretty big hockey fan, so any change I get to read a book about hockey players, I'm in. I knew this is one that I wanted to read right when I saw it. Aleksander plays for the Detroit Pilots and Auden translates for her grandpa's business when she has a month off of school over winter break. She assumes she'll be translating documents again, like previous job assignments from him, but she learns that she finally gets to be a Russian translator for a real person, and she couldn't be more excited when she learns its a hockey player. 

This was a fun book to read. In addition to being a hockey fan, I'm a sucker for guys who can speak a foreign language. And Aleksander is hot. They're both struggling with things from their past, and they've learned to trust each other with these secrets. I really liked watching these two characters grow and learn who they really are. Although they have a really fast romance and fall in love quickly, they still spend time apart and aren't completely obsessed with each other, which I appreciate as a reader! 

About The Author

Sophia Henry, a proud Detroit native, fell in love with reading, writing, and hockey all before she became a teenager. She did not, however, fall in love with snow. So after graduating with an English degree from Central Michigan University, she moved to North Carolina, where she spends her time writing books featuring hockey-playing heroes, chasing her two high-energy sons, watching her beloved Detroit Red Wings, and rocking out at concerts with her husband.

6 comments :

  1. Thank you for reading and reviewing DELAYED PENALTY! I appreciate you featuring the book on your blog! :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. so romantic =d love is best medicine ever

    ReplyDelete
  3. Thank you for hosting DELAYED PENALTY

    ReplyDelete